This page lists products that I have contacted the manufacturer and received confirmation that they are gluten free. It is so hard to try and guess……and so few products are actually labeled GF. The date is when I made the contact. Remember that manufacturers can change their formularies at any time.

Olivio Margarine Products: “All Olivio products are GF” (12.07)

Green & Black Chocolate Bars: “All of our products are GF with the exception of the Caramel & Mint bars which use organic wheat syrup in the fondant.” This company sent an exceptional email detailing how they test (in ppm and they surpass CODEX guidelines)to ensure GF/allergen quality when changing manufacturing lines. (12.07)

Honey Rice Puffins Cereal: “is the only Puffins brand that contains no gluten in the ingredients.” Manufacturer cannot guarantee that cross contamination can’t occur in harvesting, and “they take every precaution to prevent this from occurring, but there is a slight chance” (i.e. they can’t guarantee 100% so they removed the GF label. (12.07)

SoBe Life Water: “All flavors of SoBe life water are gluten free.” Good to know if you’re stuck at a convenience store. (PepsiCo product) (12.07)

Breyer’s Ice Cream Products: This is the statement off the allergen page of their website: “We do want to reassure you that we work closely with all of our ingredient suppliers, including packaging, to verify all ingredient components. This includes those ingredients in natural flavors, colors and spices that would be a concern to persons with sensitivity to gluten. We ensure that this information is then included on our product’s ingredient label as “flour” or “wheat flour etc.” If a source of gluten were used in a product, it would be clearly listed. Some of our flavorings may contain ethyl alcohol, however, because the alcohol is distilled, they would not pose a threat to anyone who is gluten intolerant.” I sent them an email to clarify and see if that really means that the non-labeled contents are gluten free, or if this was a hedge statement. (01.02.08) When I did receive a reply, it was another hedge statement saying that they tried to accurately label but that as the consumer, it was my responsibility to read the labels. OK. I’ll read the labels of products that are willing to tell me what’s in the box. (01.10.08)

Edy’s/Dreyer’s Ice Creams: These folks have their act together! You can go on their website (http://www.dreyerinc.com), and it takes a few clicks, but you can get to pages that show you the nutrition label on the side of the package and each one clearly spells out allergen info with the words “GLUTEN FREE”! What a concept! Lots and lots of flavors to choose from! They have regular flavors, light flvors, and popsicles. (01.24.08)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.